Tuesday, December 18, 2007

Material Girl To Be Inducted Into Hall of Fame

In 1996, Madonna was invited to present David Bowie with his Hall Of Fame credentials and now she gets her own.

Madonna's debut single, "Everybody," was released twenty-five years ago in 1982. She will be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame next year, along with John Mellencamp, Leonard Cohen, The Ventures and The Dave Clark Five.The induction ceremony will take place on March 10th, 2008 at New York's Waldorf Astoria.

Among the artists who were nominated this year but did not get in are the Beastie Boys (who were eligible for the first time) and Donna Summer.

Past Inductees:

Grandmaster Flash and the Furious Five, Patti Smith, R.E.M., The Ronettes, Van Halen

Black Sabbath, Blondie, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Miles Davis, Sex Pistols

Buddy Guy, Percy Sledge, The O'Jays, The Pretenders, U2

Bob Seger, George Harrison, Jackson Browne, Prince, The Dells, Traffic, ZZ Top

AC/DC, Elvis Costello & the Attractions, Righteous Brothers, The Clash, The Police

No comments:

Post a Comment